W.5 | Social Media Utility in Volcano and Hazard Communication - Panel Discussion


CONVENERS:

Wendy K. Stovall | USGS • wstovall@usgs.gov
Janine Krippner | • jkrippner@gmail.com
Micol Todesco | INGV • micol.todesco@ingv.it
Nico Fournier | GNS • n.fournier@gns.cri.nz
Jan Lindsay | DEVORA/Univ. Auckland • j.lindsay@auckland.ac.nz
Beth Bartel | UNAVCO • bartel@unavco.org

Date: September 1
Duration: 1 day
Number of participants: 10 – unlimited

Although social media has existed for only a decade, it’s rapidly becoming a de- facto primary news source for many around the globe. We see that news and information about volcanoes and volcanic unrest emanates from diverse sources and travels quickly. However, using social media to disseminate reliable information about volcanoes and their potential hazardous effects can be challenging – non- authoritative sources can undermine the message with inaccurate and outdated information. With the flood of information, how do the authoritative sources remain relevant and heard?
We aim for this forum to be an opportunity for people involved in volcano-related information and hazards communications to sit down together and discuss the utility of social media in our community. The format will include an introduction to the topic with some global statistics, a panel discussion, and an open discussion amongst all who join. The invitation to participate is open to everyone in the volcanology, emergency management and media community. People interested in social media will have the opportunity to meet each other, open lines of communication, and figure out how we can help each other.
The panel will include people who represent various parties that communicate about volcanoes and volcanic hazards, e.g. government organizations, volcano-monitoring outfits, early career volcan logists, emergency managers, universities, educators, volcano observatories, etc.

Workshops registration expired

I cookie ci aiutano a fornire i nostri servizi. Utilizzando tali servizi, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da questo sito. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.

Chiudi