W.12 | Promoting mutual knowledge exchange in the volcano world


CONVENERS:

Micol Todesco | INGV Sezione di Bologna • micol.todesco@ingv.it
Carina Fearnley | UCL • c.fearnley@ucl.ac.uk
Hakan Karahasan | NEU • hakan.karahasan@neu.edu.tr
Andrea Di Muro | IPGP • dimuro@ipgp.fr
Rosella Nave | INGV Osservatorio Vesuviano • rosella.nave@ingv.it
Chiara Cardaci | DPC • Chiara.Cardaci@protezionecivile.it

Date: September 8
Duration: 1 day
Number of participants: 10- 40

Managing volcanic hazards requires the interaction of distinct stakeholders, including government and civil managers, scientific communities, local communities, media, industry, and the general public. These different groups create, share, and interpret knowledges about the natural event, which is then integrated into organisational practices and everyday lives. Difficulties arise when different perceptions of the natural event cannot be reconciled, and different groups interpret the available knowledge in different ways. Effective sharing of knowledge (scientific and non-scientific) requires a profound understanding of the multifaceted features that affect and shape human communication. It is well established that scientific information becomes useful, usable, and used when it belongs to a mutual knowledge exchange, where all stakeholders participate in the definition of what needs to be communicated, how and when. The aim of this workshop is to consolidate an interdisciplinary network capable of tackling risk communication issues from different points of view. Participants will be able to discuss communication strategies, identify priorities, devise exercises, and communication experiments to be tested in the field and explore different founding schemes to finance innovative interdisciplinary research on risk communication.

Workshops registration expired

I cookie ci aiutano a fornire i nostri servizi. Utilizzando tali servizi, accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie da questo sito. maggiori informazioni

Questo sito utilizza i cookie per fornire la migliore esperienza di navigazione possibile. Continuando a utilizzare questo sito senza modificare le impostazioni dei cookie o cliccando su "Accetta" permetti il loro utilizzo.

Chiudi